Roleplaying Basics! (And More)

OOC discussions directly related to Dasaria.
Twist of Cain
Commoner
Main Player Character: The Ravencry Family (MrGrendel)

Roleplaying Basics! (And More)

Postby Twist of Cain » Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:15 am

Alright, earlier while in-game, I had another new player ask me a question about roleplaying. Though I'm new to this server, I know where to find some good resources, and it was nice to be able to help another “newbie.” And then I thought, I might be able to help with a post on the forum as well.

The credit for most of this post goes to “Escape from Underdark” on NWN1, a place where I learned much about online roleplay. In particular I would like to credit the Head DM Howland of EfU. The parts that are quoted from there are his and the other DMs on his forum. I compiled it, wrote some parts, quoted most and rewrote others, (with permission from Howland) but heck, I basically give them full credit.

Incidentally, I've already been involved by more than one RPer in plots on this server since I have started, and would like to say thank you, the community here has been great so far!

Alright, to start with, since I want to aim this at even very new players, are some words and abbreviations you'll run into.

Terms and General Etiquette.
  • 1.Role-play(ing). (RP) Basically, the playing of a character in a game, very much like an actor on a stage is playing a role to an audience, instead of being himself.

2.Meta-gaming. In short, any time someone uses IC information they obtain through an OOC avenue, this is Meta-gaming. This can be as simple as taking advantage of information the player overheard in OOC conversation or as subtle as taking advantage of the fact that you know OOCly that NPCs won't defend players if a DM is not alerted and present. (Edit: To clarify, this is a bad thing.)

3.Out Of Character. (OOC) Anything you as the player say or do, as opposed to what your character says or does.